Goodbye social media posters; An autistic’s view

I am an ever-seeking idealist. This is my greatest attribute, and at moments my weakest link. Like many a folk I know, I think outside the box, and I remain there, looking outward at the kaleidoscope of possibilities to be the best I can be, in a world that dictates competition, attention and greed.

This evening, I find myself questioning, after four years of writing and interacting with others on the autistic spectrum, if I truly want to be an advocate or representative of the autistic condition. There aren’t any reasons I can pinpoint, beyond that of wanting nothing to do with selfish intentions.

Much of this unease has to do with my interactions on Facebook. In the last years, I have embraced my autism, and I call myself ‘autistic’ with pride. I have a calling to share information about Aspergers, particularly how it affects females. But I am becoming weary of making social media posters to spread information, especially ones with my name on them; as a portion of the social interaction appears an arena of flashing images of self-promotion, akin to flyers tucked under automobiles’ windshield wipers, back in the pre-Internet days.

I find it increasingly more troubling and toilsome to be on social media pages, as more and more people are setting out primarily to seek climbing numbers of viewers. What used to be mere sharing for the well-meaning intention of sharing has become more so a game of counting ‘likes’ and aiming for accolades. The way I see it, thumbs-up virtual ‘likes’ have become a new goal, a new reason people get up in the morning, an odd transference from real-life to virtual-life approval seeking. I myself, have fallen victim to this virtual social-hype-trappings of wanting to be better, do better, and achieve more.

Though today, I recognize the internal discomfort for what it is. I understand that recently with the upcoming publication of my book, I find it more challenging not to be swayed by the majorities’ ways. I understand that some are claiming the bombardment of social media posters is spreading awareness (or connection, or any a number of justifications). As much as I applaud those with good intentions, the bottom line remains: the poster making production, (with product, website, blogsite, page site and other identifier placement), resembles a popularity contest filled with contestants masked as well-intentioned dogooders.

I am taking off my mask tonight, even as I imagine others won’t understand and likely not agree. And that’s okay.  I recognize what is best for me. I no longer want to be a part of this particular race. I have done my fair share. I have been a true participant. And now it is time to return to my  true mission and honor my personal values. I want my journey to not be self-inclusive. And so, I free myself from yet another social game –easing myself out of a place that no longer feels a comfortable reflection of my authentic self.

9 thoughts on “Goodbye social media posters; An autistic’s view

  1. For me, though there are some advantages to using social media, it is not a place I try to form relationships. I find that for a person who isn’t into the latest trends or superficial conversation, social media is more an extra tool for news and other information gathering. I think it is good to make your voice heard, especially as you have much to add to the autism/Asperger’s conversation. What exhausted me into closing comments on my blog and being highly selective with who I allow on my fb page is the unsolicited mean-spiritless of posters who seem to think cruel words (and obviously, intention) are okay as long as there’s no personal accountability. This is part and parcel of the fallen world we live in and do not have to give into.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am fine with most mean-spirited people. I became immune to most of that after a year of writing. I think everyone has moments where they come across as meaner than they think. There are some ‘bad apples’ but they don’t affect me much anymore. What is hardest for me is masked intentions. Someone claiming to wanting to help others, but having a larger portion of wanting profit or fame. That’s okay for others, but not for me. I am becoming less and less a fan of social media in general. I like the links and information though. Lots of great stuff circulating out there. Thanks for your comment. My voice can be heard with links to my blog or writing without posters. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have felt the same which is why my blog has moved multiple times in the last decade each time it got popular and now is do obscure Uighur only get like fifty hits a day… In weird in the fact that anything over makes me nervous!;) but you know what I do like? Being able to write about whatever topic thrills me… Also the other sweet voices I sometimes get in comments that truly add to the posts…your posts truly ring with authenticity and I always strive also to only wrote when I am passionate about something for not only myself first but then for healing or beauty or advocacy or anything that brings a form of delight in a way… Hmmmm I’m not sure I’m making sense… Anyway I get this minus one thing… What is a poster? Is it the image at the beg of a post or a label or hastag? Or is it strictly on Facebook? Thanks for our true self! Ps r u still finishing the book or no?;)

    Like

  3. I have felt the same which is why my blog has moved multiple times in the last decade each time it got popular and now is do obscure Uighur only get like fifty hits a day… In weird in the fact that anything over makes me nervous!;) but you know what I do like? Being able to write about whatever topic thrills me… Also the other sweet voices I sometimes get in comments that truly add to the posts…your posts truly ring with authenticity and I always strive also to only wrote when I am passionate about something for not only myself first but then for healing or beauty or advocacy or anything that brings a form of delight in a way… Hmmmm I’m not sure I’m making sense… Anyway I get this minus one thing… What is a poster? Is it the image at the beg of a post or a label or hastag? Or is it strictly on Facebook? Thanks for our true self! Ps r u still finishing the book or no?;) I was a tad confused as the poster through me off but whatever u do I support 😉

    Like

  4. This is something I have been uncomfortable with for some time – I love the creative and mind clearing aspect of writing and putting it “out here” is a great discipline for me but I also can’t bear the idea of self promotion when my answer to so many of lifes problems is ” I don’t know” – even the idea of “followers” fills me with horror.
    I also find that if I let it, social media takes up more and more time for very little true reward.
    Ive changed me personal facebook page to to business one and have stopped putting any personal posts out there – and I am considering removing it completely or making it private to family.
    Thank you for posting this and bravo to you – keep talking!

    Like

  5. There’s something bitterly ironic about the way the person who isn’t look for fame is the one with the famous book deal (that’s not sarcasm – but it’s still ironic)….

    Like

Leave a Reply

